favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

$940 / 4br - Sunny walkable community-minded home in Somerville! 6/1 or 7/1 (East Somerville)

Broadway, Somerville, MA 02145

Sunny walkable community-minded home in Somerville! 6/1 or 7/1 1 thumbnailSunny walkable community-minded home in Somerville! 6/1 or 7/1 2 thumbnailSunny walkable community-minded home in Somerville! 6/1 or 7/1 3 thumbnailSunny walkable community-minded home in Somerville! 6/1 or 7/1 4 thumbnailSunny walkable community-minded home in Somerville! 6/1 or 7/1 5 thumbnailSunny walkable community-minded home in Somerville! 6/1 or 7/1 6 thumbnailSunny walkable community-minded home in Somerville! 6/1 or 7/1 7 thumbnailSunny walkable community-minded home in Somerville! 6/1 or 7/1 8 thumbnailSunny walkable community-minded home in Somerville! 6/1 or 7/1 9 thumbnailSunny walkable community-minded home in Somerville! 6/1 or 7/1 10 thumbnail
We're two friends looking for two more folks to join us in making a home in a 4-bedroom 2-bath apartment in East Somerville. The apartment is newly renovated and the shared spaces include a kitchen, dining room, living room, and balcony. We're in a walker/biker's paradise (Walk Score ™'s words, not ours), a 12-minute walk to Sullivan Square, nearby library, less than a mile from Assembly, and an 8-minute walk to the grocery store. We've got central air, a washer-dryer in the unit, and a dishwasher.

We haven't claimed bedrooms yet, so depending on size, the rooms will be between $940 to $1200.

We’re looking for someone(s) who likes living with other folks and is interested in co-creating a home and community. Kind, friendly, accountable, and genuine are all great adjectives to embody! We're ideally looking for a June 1st move-in, but we're open to July 1st as well.

Animals: We have an absolutely amazing cat. She is on an allergen reducing diet and very gentle/friendly/quiet. We unfortunately can't take another cat or dog.

Couples: We might be open to a couple, though the landlord has said he'll increase the rent with more folks on the lease.

Lot’s more details below, but if you’re interested, fill out our application: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdBYMKMyc_as8ttXlehZ2hGSkV5_Jp80Sv-iv3YEQ2PkR9Euw/viewform?usp=sf_link

~~ What we want "home" to be ~~


We’re happy to share much more about the details of the particular flavor of community we are making when we meet - one of the things about moving into a fresh house is that we want to decide what the home will feel like together. That said the starting vision is:

* A place where we come together over food and conversation and ask about each other's day. The house is a place where folks welcome others to join in on “your cool thing” or “passion project”
* “Feeling like home” for all roommates; a place to let your roots sink in a little.
* A special soup of clear expectations, open communication, grace for one another and genuinely caring about each other.
* Generous and good hosts, with an orientation towards inclusivity and community - friends, family, significance others feel welcomed and comfortable in the space.
* Splitting tools, food and other resources
* Some random things that might occur: Boardgames nights, Trash Night (https://www.twitch.tv/trashnightvideo), Co-crafting, afternoon tea, hanging out at Mudflat (https://www.mudflat.org/), friendsgiving

~~ House Details ~~


* Rent: $940 to $1200
* Newly renovated 4 bedroom and 2 bathrooms (with tubs)
* Kitchen, dining room, living room and balcony
* Other amenities: In-unit laundry, dishwasher, central AC/heat

* Bedrooms and rent: We're open to be flexible about who goes in what rooms - you can note on the application which rooms you're interested in:

* 8' x 10' 8" floor space plus a closet ($940)
* 8' 3" x 11'1" floor space plus a closet ($960)
* 9' x 10 ' 9" floor space plus a closet; back door to balcony ($1100)
* 9 x 15' 8" no closet; back door to balcony ($1200)

* Location: East Somerville, 8m min walk from Stop and Shop, right by a library, less than 15 minutes to the Orange line and Assembly Square. Very bikeable!
* Accessibility: This is a 2nd floor unit, so there is a flight of stairs to get up to the unit.
* Pets: We have one cat
* Food/Allergens: There are meat eaters in the house. Any food we split or cook together will be with folks dietary restrictions in mind!

~~Community~~

The specifics of this are all up in the air, but anyone moving-in should expect and be ready to participate in the following:

Keeping common spaces clean:
* Day to day this means cleaning up after yourself in common spaces - not leaving dishes in the sink/in the way of others, pulling hair out of the drain, leaving tables/chairs/couches available for people to sit and eat/work/play after you’ve left.
* Some sort of equitable and accountable chore system.

Communication:
* A house email/chat thread.
* House meetings (likely monthly and for about an hour).

Food:
* At least one communal dinner a week, with shared splitting of cooking and cleaning.
* Shared food to some capacity - we can commit to supporting vegetarian or veganism options alongside meat (depending who’s in the house).

COVID: We have some flexibility in our handling of COVID and would have a conversation with everyone to establish expectations before living together - here's a few baseline expectations for roommates:

* Be vaccinated.
* Communicate openly about exposures and if you aren't feeling well. Neither of us are high risk, but we come into contact with folks who are.
* Test if you're feeling sick or have been exposed.
* Mask in the commons areas if you have COVID.

Substances: We're not planning on making a sober house, but we're not huge substance users (alcohol, weed, psychedelics, etc) and don't want to have heavy drinking or drug use as part of the house social scene (anything you want to do outside of the house is totally fine!). The house is also no smoking.

~~About Us~~

T: (they/she) 29, I’m a Black young adult fiction editor from NJ who loves reading, hiking, and drinking tea. I like watching bad movies and ridiculous reality TV. I also love musicals and going to see local theater, eating Korean BBQ, and am a huge fan of The Mountain Goats and Mal Blum. At home you can find me doing short cardio dance workouts, meditation, and my physical therapy exercises. With my housemates I like cooking/baking projects to try new foods, watching video essays (Folding Ideas, CJ the X, Jenny Nicholson), and finding cool things to see in the city. I have a big long distance community and love to visit across Boston and around the country (like beautiful Oklahoma City) and spend a fair bit of time catching up on gossip over the phone.

L: (she/her) 35, I’ve lived in four countries and have moved a lot throughout my life, including 2 years serving in Peace Corps Rwanda as a high-school computer science teacher. I love living with folks, from formal co-ops with cook schedules to friendly roommates that feel like a found family. This is the third time I’ve been involved in starting a house. My most enduring love is for tabletop roleplaying games (TTRPGs) - everything from Dungeons and Dragons to weird narrative indie storytelling games. In 2022 I quit a fancy tech job to pursue that love and have been far more successful than I could have hoped: I currently work leading a team of writers and editors to make The Stormlight Archive's new TTRPG. I'm also working on my own game, a TTRPG called Jukebox that pays homage to broadway musicals where you sing karaoke while playing.

Other notable loves: board games, puzzles, tea/coffee, cooking/eating with housemates, jogging in pretty places, ultimate frisbee, drawing and somewhat obsessive podcast listening. I do ceramics in my free-time, so expect a lot of beautiful and mis-matched homemade dishes in our home…especially because we live right next to the local pottery studio.

M: I'm a cuddly ~3 year old gray and white short haired lap cat. I eat allergen reducing cat food, but I am a cat, so beware if you're allergic to me! I like food, pets, and having people around the house. I'm pretty quiet and don't bite or scratch, though I have been known to eat houseplants.

~~ About You ~~

We’re looking for someone who likes living with other folks and is interested in co-creating a home and community. Kind, friendly, communicative, accountable and genuine are all great adjectives to embody! You enjoy living with different types of people and have a curiosity and non-judgmentalness towards folks' lived experiences.

We are explicitly LGBTQIA+ positive and open to all ages, genders, ethnicities, nationalities and life paths. We’re not looking for a particular type of person or identity and don’t want to live with a bunch of copies of ourselves; if all or most of what we described above sounds exciting and like the type of place you want to live, come talk to us!

~~ Logistics ~~

* Move-in is June 1, though we’d consider a later move-ins. You’ll sign on to a year-long lease, through May 31st 2025
Security deposit is required when you sign the lease ($1,000) and then the first month of rent upon move in.
* Utilities and food (mentioned above) will be split amongst roommates. The landlord is paying for water/sewer. We pay for the rest.
* If you’re interested, fill out our short get-to-know-you application: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdBYMKMyc_as8ttXlehZ2hGSkV5_Jp80Sv-iv3YEQ2PkR9Euw/viewform?usp=sf_link and we'll arrange a chat to meet each other
* House tours require additional scheduling with the landlord, but are easy to arrange - they'll happen after interviews (though we can share floor plans/pictures/ descriptions of the house during an interview).

That application again is here: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdBYMKMyc_as8ttXlehZ2hGSkV5_Jp80Sv-iv3YEQ2PkR9Euw/viewform?usp=sf_link

post id: 7746201752

posted:

updated:

best of [?]

loading
reading
writing
saving
searching