favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

$850 / 144ft2 - Spacious Room in JP (Jamaica Plain)

Spacious Room in JP 1 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 2 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 3 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 4 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 5 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 6 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 7 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 8 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 9 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 10 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 11 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 12 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 13 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 14 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 15 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 16 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 17 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 18 thumbnailSpacious Room in JP 19 thumbnail
Hi there! We’re looking for a 4th person to join our 4 BD/1BA apartment in a fabulous Jamaica Plain location. Available Sept 1st!

The Room:
$850/mo + utils.
Incoming roommate must be able to sign onto lease from Sep 1, 2024-Aug 31, 2025. Only applicants who can stay through Aug 31, 2025 will be considered.
The most spacious bedroom in our apartment at roughly 12 x 12 ft
3 bay windows “bump-out” style, with a 4th window on the side, providing plenty of natural light
Room does not have a closet, we ask that you please bring your own wardrobe storage (to be kept in your room) to accommodate



The Apartment
2nd floor apartment with dedicated entrance
Kitchen with many cabinets + lots of counter space
Walk-in pantry
Gas stove/oven
Dishwasher (new)
2 (newer) shared fridges
Cozy living room with TV (full streaming services/no cable)
Excellent hi-speed wifi internet
Free laundry in basement (brand new machines)
Decent-sized freshly renovated back porch
Newly-finished downstairs coat closet
Additional sunny room is a communal project/work room!
Friendly upstairs + downstairs neighbors, with whole house group chat for communication between units
Pretty quiet for city living, even with babies upstairs
420 friendly, but not indoors/otherwise smoke-free home
Fragrance-sensitive/incense-free home
C0VID-conscious household

The Location
4 min walk to Green St T (Orange Line) and bike path
7 min walk to Centre St (shops, food/coffee, pharmacy, restaurants, library)
Close to various bus lines and Blue Bikes as well
15 min walk to Jamaica Pond, The Arboretum, Franklin Park (green spaces!)
Many neighborhood gardens and sprawling victorian architecture to look at

Utility Costs
$90-160/month covers gas, electric, internet
$150-$200 3-4 times/winter (with notice) for oil heat
$15-30 every 1-2 months for shared house supplies (toilet paper, paper towels, soaps, detergents)

Move-In Costs
First month’s rent (850) + last month’s rent (850) =$1700
1st month’s rent to landlord (via Venmo to roommate)
Last month’s rent to outgoing tenant (via Venmo)
No security deposit or realtor fee

The Roommates
Eclectic bunch in our mid-30’s (hoping to find those of similar age) with varying schedules, and varying desire to interact, all kind and friendly humans
All fully vaxxed and boosted - we are a C0VID conscious household, testing and masking in common areas when sick
We like to keep our home and common areas clean, useable, + clutter free and are looking for the same in a housemate
We prefer to function as a community, co-op style living - monthly house meetings, occasional fun group hangouts (TV, errands, crafts, etc)
We value and would like to maintain a peaceful, relaxing home environment with our housemates

Stephanie (she/her) is a 33 year old white, cis, bi, disabled woman. She has an adorable pet rabbit named Delilah that she loves to spend time with. She also volunteers at a local animal shelter. She is introverted and spends a lot of time alone but is happy to have planned get-togethers with roommates. She also welcomes casual conversation when people are home together. Stephanie values living environments where people accept, actively support one another, and enjoy spending time together when everyone chooses. Stephanie moved in in September!

Katie (she/her) is a 37 year old white, cis, bi, pagan woman who works remotely full-time for the insurance industry. In her free time she enjoys teaching reiki, and is into all-things new age/spiritual - such as crystals, tarot, herbs/tea, yoga, meditation etc. She receives monthly pain injections to manage fibromyalgia. She is equal parts friendly and introverted, spending time both at home and out with friends/family regularly, and also enjoys occasional hangouts with housemates + casual conversation around the home. Katie values a supportive community-mindset, kindness, and compassionate interactions. Katie moved in in November!

Our outgoing roommate has been in the apartment for over a year, and will be moving out by August 31st

More! Details!

Logistics
Must be able to sign onto lease from Sep 1, 2024-Aug 31, 2025. Only applicants who can stay through Aug 31, 2025 will be considered.
Will need to fill out applicant forms and be approved by landlord
Will be expected to review and sign roommate agreement
Rent is due to the landlord on the first of the month and must arrive via a single check sent out by 1 roommate - must be able to pay our roommate by the 27th of the previous month, so the check arrives on time and all the funds are successfully transferred
No more pets allowed due to restrictions on the lease and current tenant allergies
Landlord is mostly hands-off but will address critical things

Accessibility
4 steps to our front door, 15 steps into apartment
Basement laundry is down two flights of stairs
Option for bike storage in basement
Handheld shower head

Parking
On-street parking is plentiful with option for free street parking and potential to obtain free JP resident parking permit (city currently not issuing)
Very close 2-hour visitor parking, unlimited after 5pm (across street)
Easy parking for overnight guests that is not monitored or ticketed (4 min walk)

Thanks for reading! If this sounds like a good fit for you, please tell us a bit about yourself, and let us know when you would be able to see the apartment and meet us in person, or virtually. Thanks for your time, we look forward to meeting you!

post id: 7739471229

posted:

updated:

best of [?]

loading
reading
writing
saving
searching