favorite this post $815 1 bedroom in 3 bedroom apartment in Jamaica Plain hide this posting unhide

 1 2 3 4

available jul 1

laundry in bldg
off-street parking
no private bath
private room

The apartment: first floor three bedroom apartment of a duplex, two bathrooms, living room, dining room, kitchen. Dishwasher. House is fully furnished in a style that could be summarized as "we've been broke law students for three years" but is fully furnished nevertheless. Extra storage space is in the basement, along with the (free) washer and dryer. Great social space in common areas. No central A/C, but window units are an option. Off street parking for one car and plenty of street parking. No smoking in the house. No pets. Unfortunately, the duplex is not accessible for people on wheels or who otherwise may have trouble with stairs.

The location: ~10 minute walk to Stony Brook on the orange line, further to the green line (Heath/Brookline Village), a couple blocks from bus 39, a quick walk to Whole Foods, close to a Stop and Shop (less than a mile), accessible to multiple bike paths, right near the main drag of Jamaica Plain with all of its restaurants and shops. Near the Pond/the Emerald Necklace. Plenty of free street parking (no permit required).

The room: is the smallest of the three bedrooms with a shared bathroom (with one other person). Furnished, but that's negotiable. Enough room for a double bed, a dresser, a bookshelf and a desk (which is what is currently there). There's a closet. It's not as dark as it looks in this photo. (Backlit by the storm!)

The housemates: This is slightly complicated! You will have a different set of housemates for the summer, but as of September you will be living with two recent law school grads who (will) do various things in the immigration world with their JDs. They're female and in their mid 20s and early 30s. These are the folks you'd be signing a lease with.

Money matters: Rent is $815. Last month's rent due on signing (which will most likely be in April).
Utilities (gas, electric, and internet) are split three ways. We also share household supplies (generally including toilet paper, paper towels, cleaning supplies, and then negotiated sharing of food - often including milk, eggs, butter, flour, and other staples).

The move in date: July 1, 2018 (somewhat negotiable). You must be willing to sign the main lease, this is not a summer sublet.

To apply: Respond to this advert and tell us something about you/your story. We will set up meetings/house tours with select folks in the next week or two.

Any selection is subject to landlord approval.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6529833985



best of [?]