reply

Posted

print

favorite this post Reduced Rent 1bd in Exchange for House Repairs hide this posting unhide

dogs are OK - wooof

Hello!

We are seeking a 3-5 room 1 bed/1bath apartment in Arlington, Belmont, Cambridge, Lexington, Medford, Somerville, Winchester, or Woburn.

We would like an apartment with washer/dryer or at the very least w/d hookups. We are also hoping for some kind of storage space (basement, garage, shed, etc). We both have vehicles so some kind of parking situation needs to be available in order for us to be able to move. We are fine with city municipal lot, the one in Arlington is very affordable.

Ideally we want to spend a max of 1000/month combined on rent (Gotta save for a house of our own somehow!). We can spend a maximum of 1300/month combined, 1400/month if utilities are included.

My fiance can provide housework/maintenance/renovations and I can provide dog training/dog sitting/tutoring for all age levels/babysitting/elder care/respite care in exchange for reduced rent. Or perhaps you don't want our services and you're just one of those unicorn landlords who genuinely rents a 1bd for 1400 or less per month (We know they're out there! We have several friends who found a few, including a really nice 2bd for only $1000/month).

My fiance and I are getting married in September and are trying to find a place of our own that we can reasonably afford, IE: No more than 1/4 of our monthly take home salaries. 700/month, 1400/month combined would be 1/4 of each of our take home salaries but we are hoping to spend a bit less.

About us:

I am in my mid 20s and work full time as a Disability Coordinator for three Head Start preschools (we provide affordable preschool to low income families) and have just started my first year of an online grad school program to pursue a Masters in Social Work.

My fiance is in his early 30s and works full time as an elite climbing coach. He has over a decade of experience as a contractor building furniture, building and remodeling homes, renovating homes and buildings, and has 5 years experience as an electrician but is not licensed. Bonus: He comes with his own tools!

We are both relatively quiet and respectful. We enjoy spending our time outdoors, having a handful of friends over for dinner, and are both non smokers. Both of our credit scores are well above 700 and we can provide previous landlord references. We are not planning on starting a family any time soon and would move back to TX (where we are both from) when we do so you will never have to worry about screaming infants or children who draw on the walls as long as we are your tenants!

If you have something available or may have something available anytime in the upcoming year, please reach out to us! We are very flexible on move date as we have our current lease until June 2019.

If you have any questions about us as people, our situation, and/or what we can provide you in terms of services (house repair, etc), please reach out. We'd love to see photos of your place and hear more about it as well. Pet friendly places are highly preferable!

  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6667461221

posted:

best of [?]