favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

Assistant needed for great family in Newton (West Newton)

compensation: $15+/hr

Assistant needed for great family in Newton

We need to find 1 more person to help me and my family. A great person just abruptly quit due to family medical issues.

Me (the employer): David, a full-time database developer, Cal-Berkeley grad with cerebral palsy who lives with my wife and elementary school-aged son in a 1600 sq ft house in West Newton. I use a power wheelchair, and perform my own self-care except for clipping my nails.

The basics: $15+/hour, 14 hours a week on 2-3 days spaced throughout the week, including one weekend day, hours and days somewhat flexible, but some evenings are a must. Paid by direct deposit every 2 weeks. Must have own social security number and be authorized to work in the US (can complete I-9 form). Duties include: light meal preparation (coffee, sandwiches, occasionally pasta), assistance with wardrobe planning (lay out clothes for the next few days that are appropriate for the weather forecast), wheelchair cushion cleaning, laundry, general housekeeping, assist me with paperwork as needed.

Starts as soon as possible, local students welcome to apply, year-round position and intend on working at least a year.

We need you to be:
- Dependable/reliable-- this role is key to the healthy functioning of my family
- Detail-oriented
- Proactive- take the initiative to see what needs to be done and do it
- Able to multitask-- put laundry in, start dishwasher, go clean something, etc...
- Good team player
- Have a sense of humor!

Off street parking, prefer someone who commutes under their own power and is not tied to public transportation schedules, but not a dealbreaker. Also close to commuter rail and express bus. Green line is about 30 min walk.

Please tell me a little bit about yourself and why this opportunity interests you.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7001170133

posted:

best of [?]